The Executive Committee of the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group is one of two committees that govern the Group under the leadership of the Group Co-Chairs (the other is theย Principal Investigator Committee). The Executive Committee meets quarterly under the direction of the Group Co-Chairs to monitor the scientific and operational progress of the Group and oversee strategic planning, resource allocation, and related matters.

The Executive Committee consists of the executive leaders, individuals elected by the Principal Investigator Committee, and individuals appointed by the Group Co-Chairs to represent the interests of defined constituent groups. All members of the Executive Committee have voting status. The following individuals, stratified by category (i.e., executive, elected, and appointed members), are the current members.

Executive Leaders

Group Co-Chair

Peter J. Oโ€™Dwyer, MD

University of Pennsylvania and the Abramson Cancer Center

Group Co-Chair

Mitchell D. Schnall, MD, PhD

University of Pennsylvania

Group Statistician, Therapeutics

Robert J. Gray, PhD

Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center

Group Statistician,

Constantine A. Gatsonis, PhD

Brown University

Group Vice Chair

Al B. Benson III, MD

Northwestern University and the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center

Group Executive Officer

Bruce J. Giantonio, MD

Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital

Executive Director

Donna M. Marinucci, BSMT

Deputy Executive Director

Jean MacDonald, MPH

Elected Members

Academic-Based Standing Main Members Representative

Heather A. Wakelee, MD

Stanford University and the Stanford Cancer Institute

Community-Based Standing Main Members Representative

Kurt R. Oettel, MD

Wisconsin NCORP
Gundersen Health System

Scientific Main Members Representative

Barry A. Siegel, MD

Washington University in St. Louis

Affiliate Members Representative

Matthias Weiss, MD

Wisconsin NCORP
Biography (to come)

Appointed Members

Deputy Chair, Biomarker Sciences

Keith T. Flaherty, MD

Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center

Deputy Chair, Cancer Control and Outcomes

Lynne I. Wagner, PhD

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill and the UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center

Deputy Chair, Therapeutic Studies

Suresh S. Ramalingam, MD

Emory University and the Winship Cancer Institute

Deputy Chair, ECOG-ACRIN and AIDS Malignancy Consortium Joint Strategy

Joseph A. Sparano, MD

Mount Sinai Hospital and The Tisch Cancer Institute

Deputy Chair, Laboratory Sciences

Stanley R. Hamilton, MD

City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center

Cancer Centers Liaison

George W. Sledge Jr., MD

Stanford University and the Stanford Cancer Institute

Cancer Research Advocates Representative

Mary Lou Smith, JD, MBA

Research Advocacy Network

Geriatric Oncology Representative

Efrat Dotan, MD

Fox Chase Cancer Center

Health Equity Representative

Melissa A. Simon, MD, MPH

Northwestern University and the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center

Research Associates Representative

In Transition

Specialized Programs of Research Excellence (SPOREs) Liaison

Michael A. Carducci, MD

Johns Hopkins University and The Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center

Underserved Populations Representative

Edith P. Mitchell, MD

Deceased 01/24/24
In Memoriam
(Position in Transition)

U01 Grant Holders Liaison

Joseph Aisner, MD

In Transition

ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group