The primary responsibility of the ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group’s seven-member Nominating Committee is to prepare the Principal Investigator (PI) Committee for the election of new Group Co-Chairs, as needed. In the unlikely event that the need arises for a Group Co-Chair to be recalled, the Nominating Committee also oversees this process.

All seven members of the Nominating Committee are elected (there are no Group Co-Chair appointments). The PI Committee elects a Nominating Committee every two years from a slate of candidates proposed by the Executive Committee. This interaction between the two governance committees provides the Group with checks and balances within the election process. While the Executive and PI Committees both function under the direction of the Group Co-Chairs, the Nominating Committee is entirely independent in its role to nominate and elect new leaders.

The table below lists the current members of the Nominating Committee and the constituency they represent. This committee began its two-year term on October 26, 2019.

Committee MemberRepresentation
Thomas M. Habermann, MD
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Standing Main Members
Paul B. Gilman, MD
Lankenau Medical Center
Standing Main Members
Stanley R. Hamilton, MD
City of Hope
Scientific Main Members
Kurt R. Oettel, MD
Wisconsin NCORP
NCORP Members
Barry A. Siegel, MD
Washington University in St. Louis / Siteman Cancer Center
Scientific Main Members
Heather A. Wakelee, MD
Stanford University / Stanford Cancer Institute
Standing Main Members
Matthias Weiss, MD
Wisconsin NCORP/ThedaCare
Affiliate and Sub-Affiliate Members
ECOG-ACRIN Cancer Research Group